Poets logo

Stay Alive

Written for a Friend Who Was Going Through Some Difficult Stuff

By Alex BPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I know what you're trying to do, how you're trying to die

Let's not try to lie to ourselves by pretending that we don't know why.

You say you're an angel who just wants to fly back home

I try to help you get through this, but you just groan

Then you go and complain about being all alone

Well what the fuck do you want me to do?

I can't leave you on your own, I can't condone letting you go

But it feels like nothing I can do will show you that although life may be bad now,

I KNOW that it will get better.

Normally I'm not a big bettor, but I'd put everything I own on the line as a sign of how sure I am that if you endure the shit now, someday you will secure a happy life

Just please put down the knife

stay alive

Together we can arrive at tomorrow, just please don't cause me the sorrow of saying goodbye

I can't let you go like that

In case you haven't noticed yet, this doesn't have to be the end, so cut the shit

I know that it's hard just to quit,

and even harder not to commit

But even amid the bullshit you gotta keep your wits about you and never allow doubts to cloud your mind

they'll make you blind and grind all other thoughts into nothing

You probably think I'm bluffing but if you ever need some loving arms to fall into

Or just something warm to call to and depend on after a bad day

I will be here and I will defend you faster than you can say "hey, please send me some laughter"

I intend to do whatever I can to be a good friend and help you transcend this until the very end

If I got time, I'm willing to spend it

And if I do a crime, and end up suspended,

Then I'll just say "splendid!" and you'll be the first priority of mine that gets attended to,

because I will tend to you until you're content to do the things that I help you through alone

And I know it's scary to step into the unknown like that

But if anyone tries to hurt you, they'll have to face my wrath

I'll be here to help you along the path if you need me

But now I'm just pleading like please

Seize this day, no matter what they say, you're gonna be okay, just please, stay alive with me today

Because eventually,

Everything's gonna be okay

Maybe not today, but things won't stay this bad forever

But you need to never ever surrender, whatever you're facing,

wether it's an aggressor at school or oppressor being cruel or a bad professor you've got for another semester,

together we can wether this storm, and transform into something stronger and better than before!

you're stronger at the core than them, so I implore you,

when you want to walk out that door and give up on this war, please, don't let them win!

Don't let them know that they're under your skin!

Next time you see em, just flash them a grin and know that you're gonna win this, and you're gonna be fine.

It's gonna take time, and sometimes you're gonna want to resign,

It might even feel like you need a divine intervention to give you some corrections,

but I can tell you now that you're nothing short of perfection!

You're going in the right direction, and although you've faced plenty of deception, you are capable of cutting through the hypocrites until you meet the real people, who treat you as an equal and are never deceitful

They're out there somewhere, just find them and you'll finally feel peaceful and maybe even cheerful, and you won't be constantly fearful!

Just please, don't put that bullet in your skull

I know the guns loaded,

the magazines full,

your note's written and folded,

you're ready to pull the trigger and end it all, but even though I'm stalling right now for time,

it's only because I KNOW that everything's gonna be fine

All you need to do is stay alive with me

I know that's easier said that done, because just simply to survive is a challenge sometimes,

and it's an accomplishment to even arrive at tomorrow every day,

just to have things stay the same, even though I PROMISED that the weight would be lifted off your shoulders and that things would be great,

but please, wait and give it a chance to change

You won't be alone, I'll be here as much as you need me, and together we can make plans to make things better

Yeah, we'll make plans, because they won't just get better on their own,

but together we can reclaim your throne on top of your mind,

even though it seems like it's a maze that was designed specifically for you to fail

Together, we can scale this mountain inside of your head,

together we will prevail!

Just please,

stay alive with me tonight.

performance poetryslam poetrysad poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Alex B

Alex is a trans woman who loves writing poetry, and writing in general

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.