Poets logo

Stars

A Conversation of Awesomeness

By Jerica FloydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in From Across the Room Challenge
9
Pierre Jean-Louis artist

He got closer to my head.

"Is that..."

"Is that glitter in your hair?"

And I gave him a look that made him immediately explain himself.

"Because, it's sparkling." He said.

"No disrespect. It's just, I don't usually see hair that...sparkles."

And I said

"It's not glitter, it's the galaxy."

He smirked.

"You're playing me, right?"

"It's cool sister."

He said

"I meant no disrespect"

"But it is..."

I say

"The galaxy.

My coiled strands are built from stars.

The very start of life lay in these strands

Aquarius, Virgo, Cassiopeia all reside in these strands

And when I stretch them straight

and watch them pop back in place

those stars scatter about the room giving life

to those searching and the truth to those listening."

"So, it's glitter?"

He says.

"Weren't you listening baby?"

I say

"It's the stars.

Step a bit closer and you can get

pulled into a black hole by these

coily constellations."

He stepped closer.

I smiled.

"It's glitter."

I say

"Nah."

He says, lips pressed softly against my ear.

"They're stars."

love poems
9

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.