Poets logo

Staring Through the Looking Glass

Looking Glass Self

By ThisCouldGetPersonal: Ask KatPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

He looks at me through the looking glass

I cannot look away from himHe feels familiar in a way that I cannot quite graspHe looks familiar yet warpedLike a Picasso painting of one's faceMy faceManipulated and twisted by flaws

I want to tell him that he is perfect

And change his distorted frown into something more pleasantI hear voices surrounding me Yet they sound distant

They are calling him names

I want to stand up for him and tell him not to listen, to cover his earsHe is not what they say he isBut he continues to morph with every word spewed at him

I scream for him, plead to him

But the voices are louderHe is no longer himselfBut a mirror of their judgment
sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

ThisCouldGetPersonal: Ask Kat

I have always felt a profound connection between my thoughts and a pen & paper. Writing has always been my way of self expression when I couldn’t find a way to vocalize the thoughts running through my head.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.