Poets logo

Stained Glass Puzzle

Derealization and other magic tricks

By Christian MarquezPublished 9 months ago 2 min read

Sometimes.

Only sometimes,

do I think to myself that maybe I am okay being incomplete.

Like an unfinished canvas.

My hands are still the same color that you left them last.

Faint watercolor that didn’t spark a narrative.

I have decided to make peace with the ghost I have become.

And haunt all the parts of me that were once alive

To be a dead tree.

With roots that have grown into the place I once called home.

Life turned death, day turned night, the same inevitable cycle of returning to something that wasn’t ever mine.

I don’t know who I am.

Or who I’ve been.

Who I deserve to be.

And there’s a melancholy feeling attached to that.

The other woman.

The other man, the other thing that I stare so deeply into when I peek into the mirror

That empty vessel that I once was sits at the table now.

A drowned pirate ship sinking deep.

Deeper.

Slower.

I am the tree in the forest, slain without a sound

Because there is no one around to validate the fall.

An empty husk of someone I used to know.

This is where I plant my dead flowers

A reminder that even this stranger died beautifully.

I have watched my reflection drown in bloodstained water far too many times to deny myself humanity, at least.

I feel like a flight attendant.

And I have a home,

But the grass has grown over all my sidewalk drawings

And the piles of leaves have stopped begging to be scattered.

Wishes; that never took flight.

And once I get back to this place,

It is again for a moment.

To remind this house that I am still here.

Even if here is far from this reflection that I have made my visitor.

My palms are burned from all the candles I lit to warm myself

And it is safe to say that I have never once considered that actions have consequences.

You were all of the color I ever had.

And I realized that I’m just a hanged man who guessed the wrong letter one two many times.

Now, the rope has come undone.

And the only way I keep myself together is through bad punchlines,

Morning coffee,

And Small poems dipped in honey.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    CMWritten by Christian Marquez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.