Poets logo

Stained glass masterpiece

Brain injury, memory loss

By Erica JordanPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
Like
Stained glass masterpiece
Photo by Ivan Shimko on Unsplash

Stained glass masterpiece

Brain injury, memory loss

If you ever feel lost and alone.

Don't.

I feel like I’m trying to grab the last straw.

The last of my memories play on a loop, scanning my file cabinet brain.

The laughter amongst chaos.

They shine like stained glass.

On display for only me.

My own personal catalog of my life.

I watch these constantly fade in and out.

Sometimes doubting what I’ve seen.

Pulling out slides one by one.

Taking it all in, remember this moment.

Remember these people, places and the feelings that wash over you.

These cherished memories run constantly through my head.

Grabbing each memory with all my strength, these get me through.

Your smiling faces, your laughter.

I have to remember this place; my people, plus my home.

Before the next setting sun comes shining down on me.

Before the winds come through, blowing my slides and personal theater away.

I’m going to fight this every single day.

Reaching out every day, blocking the wind from my beautiful chaos.

Grabbing my stained-glass masterpiece before I fade away.

I’ll eventually be holding each slide close to my heart. Noy losing my grasp.

I’ll sit watching my movie, until the sun begins to fade to darkness.

I’ll settle in my blankets waiting.

-ej

surreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalhow toheartbreakCONTENT WARNINGart
Like

About the Creator

Erica Jordan

Tea is drug. I'm chronically ill. I cant do much except my art that helps my nerve pain and function. That's baking, painting , writing..... anything creative to use that outlet to express myself . Stay Wild Moon Child.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.