Poets logo

Spun

But then she smiled at me...

By Bex JordanPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
19
LIGHT (Photo: @UmaSabirah)

The storm is raging again

I can feel the

Spiral taking hold,

This feeling so

Familiar, old

I'm cold

And I try

To stay within

The eye, but

It's so windy,

And I'm weak

From all the everything,

And I'm swept away,

Battered against the walls

Of regret

Of mistakes

Of fear

Of misses,

The life/love I'll never know,

And I'm cycling

Out of control

The storm has taken hold

And I'm in the dark

Trying to pull myself

Out, but I've lost sight

Of why,

And

I

fall

So

Far,

This pit is deep

And I am sinking,

Sobbing

Over all the faults

I see

In myself, in the world,

The future

I don't want to be in.

...

But then I see her…

She meets me where I am

And she smiles at me…

(At me?)

And she's so bright,

She lets the light in,

I can see again

And it's not so bad here.

She pulls

(Effortlessly, gracefully)

And I can see a way out

Of this cycle,

She steadies

And I have a focus–

And I know

I'm not supposed

To depend on

Anyone,

But, oh God

it's been so hard here

Alone.

Yes, I can pull myself up,

But sometimes it's

The loneliness

That sucks

Me in.

...

She moves through me,

Mending the broken pieces

That others left behind

So carelessly,

She does it with ease

Those hurts I thought

Permanent…

No, I know,

No one can ‘fix’ me.

But she holds me while

I work it through–

(And reminds me why

I even want to).

Suddenly, I

Believe

In what it means

To want to see

The sky.

inspirationallove poemsGratitude
19

About the Creator

Bex Jordan

She/They. Writer. Gardener. Cat-Lover. Nerd. Always looking up at the sky or down at the ground.

Profile photo by Román Anaya.

Instagram: @UmaSabirah

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Addy Gillabout a month ago

    Congratulations on Top Story.

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    The first half of this was just so good. I'm feeling worn down and just bone deep fatigued at the moment and I was really feeling it, and then... The redemption of the second part, equally well executed, and profoundly whilst still realistically hopeful. Loved it.

  • LASZLO SLEZAKabout a month ago

    Wonderfully story.

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Chloe Gilholyabout a month ago

    Brilliant piece.

  • Tammy Castlemanabout a month ago

    Wonderfully done and so very relatable!

  • JBazabout a month ago

    I really enjoyed the format and the word Choices. You created a personal spiritual feel to this. Well done and congratulations

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    Congrats on the Top Story! This was awesome. The way you structured each line was incredibly powerful!

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    Back to say, congrats. Not surprised at all. Well deserved Top Story, Ms Jordan!

  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Wow, this poem is amazing. Moves through you, mending the broken pieces...so many entrancing lines in this poem. I loved it.

  • Paul Stewartabout a month ago

    As always...tugging at the heartstrings...with real genuine emotion and I loved that the title and subtitle...let us know what was going to happen...and then your wonderful well chosen words led us through it all. From the despair and dissaray to the happy ending! Well done, Bex!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.