Poets logo

Spring

Time to Be Happy

By Joan HallPublished about a year ago 1 min read
10
Spring
Photo by Arno Smit on Unsplash

The dead of winter is dreary

A time to be sad and weary

But spring is soon to arrive

When the earth comes alive

And I’ll be happy and cheery.

~~~~~~~~

I don’t like winter! I’ve often said I wish I could be like a bear and hibernate until spring. Now that the equinox is less than a week away, I’m doing a happy dance.

The limerick challenge sounded like a lot of fun, and after a couple of friends encouraged me, I decided to give it a try. I'm not a poet and this is my first attempt at writing limericks. I wrote four, two of which are reflective while the other two are a bit humorous.

nature poetry
10

About the Creator

Joan Hall

Joan Hall writes mystery and suspense. Her writing is often inspired by her love of music. She likes full moons, cats, classic rock, and small-town life. Connect with Joan at https://joanhall.net

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Michele Jonesabout a year ago

    Makes you want spring to stay around a little longer. That blooming tree is simply beautiful.

  • Harmony Kentabout a year ago

    Lovely, Joan! Oh the joys of early spring! 💕🙂

  • Priscilla Bettisabout a year ago

    I think a LOT of folks can relate to this one. Happy spring or almost spring, everyone!

  • Gwen Planoabout a year ago

    A happy dance for sure!! My tulips are coming up, and you'd think I found gold. 😄

  • John W. Howellabout a year ago

    Spring is the best. Good one, Joan.

  • D.L. Finnabout a year ago

    Yes! Can't wait :)

  • Jan Sikesabout a year ago

    Love this, Joan!

  • Staci Troiloabout a year ago

    Love this! I'm a winter doldrums person, too. Can't wait for spring!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.