Poets logo

Spotlight

She is Unforgettable

By J.M. PowellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Spotlight
Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

She puts my heart in the spotlight

A founding member of my courage coming to life

By Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

At first I was afraid

With my heart in a cage

And vacant eyes

Even though I dreamed

Of this day

I really tried to escape

This unforgettable light

By Andreas Haslinger on Unsplash

But then over time I grew to be brave

I began to go after her

Rather than try to run away

I finally took her key to my cage

By Konstantin Evdokimov on Unsplash

And now I'm confident on stage

She is my spotlight

Shining on me

She is all I can see

The people behind her in the crowd

Drown out

Forgotten

All dim, dark, and blurry

By Brigitta Schneiter on Unsplash

love poems
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.