Poets logo

Spotlight

Ekphrastic Challenge July 2023

By Rae Fairchild (MRB)Published 9 months ago 1 min read
2
Spotlight
Photo by Fabian Centeno on Unsplash

This poem was written in response to the Rattle® Poetry Ekphrastic Challenge for July 2023 and was ultimately not selected. You can find more information here.

https://www.rattle.com/ekphrastic/

The image that this poem was specifically written about can be found here. (July 2023 – Elizabeth Hlookoff's “Here I Go”)

https://i0.wp.com/www.rattle.com/ekphrasis/EC23July.jpg?ssl=1

Spotlight

UNDER

The spotlight

Illumination of things below

Secrets revealed

You examine me

Everything magnified

For the world to see

You find my failures

Identify my insecurities

Work at my weaknesses

To exploit them all

For your benefit and power

So that all you have to do

Is shine that light in my eyes

And I sit down, shut up, and comply

Less you make it known about me

Of what your have discovered

To everyone for my shame

-

But you don’t understand

The command that light truly has

I grab it and turn it to myself and

-

IN

The spotlight

I become everything

I wish to be

As on a stage, focused on me

Any and all doors

Have opened to me

My shortcomings are still there

But now I control the narrative

That same light

You turned on me

Is turned towards me

And the microphone is hot

For my thoughts, opinions, and truths

Soon to be set free

For now people are listening to me

And I have much to say

In the spotlight

Submitted under MRB

social commentaryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Rae Fairchild (MRB)

I love to write; putting pen to paper fills my heart and calms my soul!

Rae Fairchild is my pen name. (Because why not? Pseudonyms are cool!)

I do publish elsewhere under my real name, Mary Rae Butler. (Fairchild, an old family surname.)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Powerful and inspirational!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.