Poets logo

Speechless

Most Favourite and Least Favourite Words Poetry Challenge

By ROCK Published 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
12
Speechless
Photo by Emmanuel Ikwuegbu on Unsplash

An Official Unofficial Challenge For Paul Stewart

Words can be whispered, cherished even endearing

Some of them I really enjoy hearing

Love is by far the best

Hate however, I do detest

Laughter, humour or smile

Are all worth my while

Filth, anger and frown

Are a few words that bring me down

I like to say frolic, and jiggety jig

Holiday, jingle, and marzipan pig

The words that make others sad

Such as ugly or stupid are usually bad

So, I stick to the words that touch the heart

Silly willy, goose and tart

Yes, I know there are more indecent nouns

Adjectives, phrases, sufferable sounds

I rely on the pleasant ones still

As once we've spoken our words can heal

What lies on the tip of my tongue I heed

For once spoken I can't undo my deed

Cheers to delightful, warmth and glee

Peace, Hope, and my favourite FREE!

(https://vocal.media/writers/most-favourite-and-least-favourite-words-poetry-challenge)

listinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
12

About the Creator

ROCK

Writing truth or fiction, feels as if I am stroking across a canvas, painting colourful words straight from my heart. I write from my old farmhouse in Sweden. *BLOGLINK

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Fantastic and playful! Love this entry!

  • Wonderful... so true that our words can heal. Love this!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Brilliant work! I love how you ended it, and threw in so many words you love (goose being my favorite of those). 💗

  • Paul Stewart6 months ago

    Completely missed this until now. I will add it to my post. Thank you for entering and with this wonderful poem. Loved your thoughts and the words you used and there are some lovely rhymes in there. Good stuff. Didn't realise I wasn't subscribed to you - changed that now!

  • Now this was such a delightful poem filled with warmth! Loved it!

  • ROCK (Author)6 months ago

    (https://vocal.media/writers/most-favourite-and-least-favourite-words-poetry-challenge)

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    awesome, fantastic!! wonderfully said. positive words all the way. love, LOVE it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.