Poets logo

Spectrum Picasso

A poem on autism

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Spectrum Picasso
Photo by Morgan Basham on Unsplash

I unzip my skull to peel apart the puzzle pieces of my brain.

I push the pieces back together in spaces where they don't quite fit.

The image comes together in a world I can pick out and see.

To the outside observer, it's a mess.

Not like the others.

Be right like the others.

Borrow the right amount of time like the others.

I am not like the others.

I'm an autistic cubist,

Picasso in a lopsided box.

April is Autism month, and I am an autistic writer/creator. Thank you for reading my work and subscribe if you’d like to read more!

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.