Poets logo

Speakeasy

A poem about that night

By Sarahmarie Specht-BirdPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Speakeasy
Photo by Alexander Popov on Unsplash

How the hell did we get here

I wonder as I walk to the bar

it is dark here, pretentiously so

and all the drinks have ingredients

I don’t understand and can’t

fathom in combination,

exactly like us.

You tell me what drink you want

with your mouth

You tell me what else you want

with your eyes

which I can’t see all that well

in this dim light

but which I know from the last

four hours are the color

of the gulf coast, a faded

grayish blue

I wonder why I never noticed this

before, and then why I never

noticed you

How the hell am I here now

amid this babbling crowd in a city

I have always known

that is suddenly made exotic

with someone in the background

suddenly made new

I ask for the drinks with their

ridiculous names

and I swallow hard and look

over to you. Fuck. I’m terrified

of how I feel.

How did we get here

and where is this all going?

Times of transition were always

my vice. I am weak and hungry

for you tonight. I should care

about consequences

but I just can’t bring myself to.

Over stupid twelve-dollar drinks

I fall hard, right into you.

How the hell did I get here

and how will I ever make it out

and what happens

if I never want to?

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sarahmarie Specht-Bird

A writer, teacher, traveler, and long-distance hiker in pursuit of a life that blends them all. Read trail dispatches and adventure stories at my website.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.