Poets logo

Speak To Me Of Love

by Rheumatoid

By Aaron RichmondPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Speak To Me Of Love
Photo by Niranjan _ Photographs on Unsplash

This world is now empty.

You wish to speak to me of love?

I shit on it all.

***

Just like the water flowing in the Ganges,

Love comes and goes and carries with it fever.

Love is that feeling which upsets your stomach,

Roils your intestines, killing you slowly,

A

G

O

N

I

Z

I

N

G

L

Y,

The world is now empty.

Speak of love – I must empty my bowels.

***

You truly don’t know – why did you choose love?

You can choose to die for anything and yet you choose love?

There is nothing there!

Ask anybody.

***

Go ask that guy over there.

I doubt you recognize him – but he wears a familiar face.

Him and I? We used to be friends,

Would drink beer by the keg and make our amends.

But this world is empty!

You wish of Love – I must piss.

***

That guy’s heart? Broken – which he could not bear.

His reality was full of fear.

You could hear it, if you listened,

He never tried to hide it.

***

I suppose you could say that I was praying.

I knew enough to know what he was going through,

For all the life-saving that’s bound to do.

***

I knew what it was, because I had lived it,

I knew the pain that etched the edges of his voice.

***

Obviously we only know of the world that which we have seen

The language and words we use being wrought for use unclean.

Look around the room – there are no happy people.

“Love is all there is”,

I say there are more things,

Though I’ve found them not at all.

***

Instead I’ve found myself.

Born for nothing else but to be alive,

To find what burns in an empty world,

Whether Love aflame or slick manure.

I say there are more things,

Though I’ve found them not at all.

***

I heard what said when you said it, Time.

You always do that, accuse me of not listening –

***

I understand.

There is nothing that must be done,

And I must get to it.

Goodbye, Time.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Aaron Richmond

Words weave, worlds unfold,

Growth, knowledge, imagination,

Aaron's artistry flows.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    Such a fun one, the voice in this was so strong! My fav lines, "That guy’s heart? Broken – which he could not bear. His reality was full of fear. You could hear it, if you listened, He never tried to hide it." Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.