Poets logo

Sparkle in My Eyes

Tinkle, tinkle little star

By allex haryyPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

I grinned, then stifled a laugh when I noticed the stern Scorpio look staring me down – you know, that serious look where you can't joke at the expense of the serious person.

"Wait, seriously?!" I exclaimed. "Don't ever say that. We're both adults (well, maybe debatable in hindsight). Never say that again."

First off, I'm not talking to a toddler, and I'm perfectly aware of when I need to go to the bathroom (that's what was running through my mind).

In the eight years before I married the jerk, I don't recall hearing that phrase. (I probably should've ended things on our first date when he chewed his pizza too loudly, but that's a story for another time... live and learn, right?)

Now, whenever I hear that word, the childhood nursery rhyme pops into my head. You know the one (sing along):

"Tinkle, tinkle little star ..."

The voices in my head are cracking up – they find me amusing!

It's been over twenty years since we got divorced. Me and my ex-husband, not me and the voices. They're still under my jurisdiction.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks For Reading

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Great! Awesome and well written!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.