Poets logo

Soul Ties

A poem about a high school love.

By Jessica BurkPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
photo cred: Unsplash image

Painted on smiles everyday mask the truth. Living in a world full of people but seeming all alone.

Pictures on my wall reveal how I feel. Angry, different, weird, in my own zone.

High school was a place to get away, full of boys and girls each with their own story.

Felt out of place, blended in, did the best I could. Smile on my face, pep in my step, so I wouldn't seem so out of the ordinary.

Warm southern night just hanging out, the smell of popcorn and the bright colored lights.

Screams mixed with joy and terror hang in the air as the roller coaster tossed us here and then there!

Jumping off after it stopped, smoothing my hair back into place.

I paused, who is this standing here, I had never seen his face.

Smile like the brightest full moon on the darkest night. Eyes pulling me in, cant help but to stare. Voice deep and smooth.

I couldn't stop moving towards him, trying hard as I might.

Could I be this forward? Will he hear my heart?

Wait...MY HEART..is this love at first site?

Reached out just to say hello.

He took my hand in his. His mouth said "Hi".

My heart said, "Don't let go".

What was this feeling, I had never felt. Was it love? Was it lust? Time would be the test.

I should have known this man was not alone, how could he be, with a soul like this. Yes...his Soul. That's what I felt. Kind, giving, and confident. To see him with her made my spirit groan.

Friends for now, yes that is fine. Again I say just give it time.

We did the dance as long as we could. His soul called to mine and mine to his, had the universe heard?

We came together without uttering a word.

Lost in each others worlds, even way back then...

Some how we knew,

This would be forever. This is no mere story, this love is true!

He is the 'Were' to my 'Wolf', the 'Day' to my 'Night'.

He keeps a smile on my face, a fire burning in my heart, the best thing that could have happened to me was love at first site!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Burk

Writing is my way of getting the movies that play in my head out into real life. I welcome any and all critique! I am an Alabama native. Mother of two wonderful boys and one fur baby girl! I love to draw, paint, sew and travel!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.