Poets logo

Soul Sense

From Across the [Country]

By J.M. PowellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Soul Sense
Photo by Mathew Schwartz on Unsplash

The distance to you

Should have been a blindfold

Masking the energy

Only possible face to face

But my soul sense took over

Making my five senses unimportant

That light in your eyes

Was like a powerful laser

That beamed across the country

Broadcasting your essence

It aimed straight at my heart

When I moved

It followed

Like a missile locked on target

I was afraid of being inadequate

So I lost you to another

Before I took the chance

To really try to earn your love

Devastated

I tried to let go

Because I thought I should

But you were with me all along

Others I tried to date

Were just towers

To signal me back to you

They lit up my insecurity so painfully

I had to face it

Which I was meant to do

Not only for myself

But for you

love poems
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Powell

You can make anything by writing. -C.S. Lewis

My passion is to spread what it means to love.

My published books of poetry: Quantum Leap Overmorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.