Poets logo

Soul Rose Self Love Awakens

"But I, being poor, have only my dreams; I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams." William Butler Yeats

By Annemarie BerukoffPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Author's Photo

He sauntered into my dour dingy life across the stage,

Burgundy topcoat, patched jeans, shoemaker's sandals...

The Soul Rose Art exhibit was passing through town.

Now he bowed his flaming feathery cockatiel hair,

Vivid vermilion cresting at flamboyant fuchsia...

A blooming, breathing art form to love at first sight.

Such weird freedom to express challenge of possibilities;

unlike my quiet life hunkering in self-disapproval

longing for a thing of beauty to adorn my purpose.

He smiled and spoke, "A thing of beauty

is not the principle focus when potential is infinite

beyond any picture's illusion or self-constraint.

Take a rose as just word descriptions of many things

but where art will explore meditations and inspirations

to be where you want to be self acknowledged...

Creating crimson colors of bright celebration scarlets, cherry reds,

Washing maroon colours of losses and pain with violet shadows...

Stroking a lover's rose intensely pink lingering on the lips...

Intertwining ribbons of muted mauve memories some gold rims...

Now add a few drops of personal amethyst as dew or tears

and emerald tracks of choices begat by thorns or hopes...

More spontaneous dashes of lemon green for exuberance

as youth of children like butterflies flitting future, not past.

Be like a soul rose as an abstraction of infinite potential

within an inner landscape where art can heal

to love the experiences of your self-reflection

from which to reach a mirror to love outer reality.

First be able to love yourself as the greatest love to give others.

And so, my friends, for your contemplation

I present my ever-changing soul rose vision to interpret

and explore the endless permutations of colors and free thoughts

to find within your peace of understanding and place

of belonging without prejudice or judgement."

He turned to lift the veil from the huge canvas behind him.

My dour life imploded with transfusions of possibilities of a rose;

My heart flowered with new perceptions, or was it soul awakening,

Entranced by an illuminating truth even if I am abstractly unrealistic

I am special and unique in love with wonder of freedom unto itself.

Tomorrow I will dress with flamboyance and wear roses in my hair.

Annemarie Berukoff

love poems
1

About the Creator

Annemarie Berukoff

Experience begets Wisdom: teacher / author 4 e-books / activist re education, family, social media, ecology re eco-fiction, cultural values. Big Picture Lessons are best ways to learn re no missing details. HelpfulMindstreamforChanges.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.