Poets logo

Soul Mate

a poem

By Ugochukwu UdorjiPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Like

Africa has given me a choice

To choose between time and happiness

So tell me my dear

Which one leads to you

As you haunt my dreams

Should I choose time

As the creator seems unperturbed

About how long he is taking to create you

Decades now

Should I choose time

Should I choose happiness

From the unsolicited smile across the street

Should I seek happiness

From the one whose shelter gave me respite

On lone and dreary days

Should I seek comfort

In the company of kindred

For I am at a cross road

In the middle of a raging storm

Bereft of allies and kinsmen

Longing for the company to ease the storm

So tell me my dear

If the creator has finished with you

Show me a sign

That you seek haste from him

Reach out to me if he is done with your hands

Scream my name across the stars

If he is done with your voice

For all bonds are severed

And my soul grows weary

heartbreaklove poems
Like

About the Creator

Ugochukwu Udorji

It is my dream to tell great stories. Stories of our past & culture, stories about my dreams, your dreams, the dreams and desires of my generation for Africa. Dreams and desires so pure, so impossible, so immoral but it doesn’t matter...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.