Poets logo

Sonorous

the simplicity of sleep

By Jenna SediPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Sonorous
Photo by Lux Graves on Unsplash

I love when you fall asleep while we work

at school

sounding of soft breaths and sweet snores,

they contrast the clacking of my computer keyboard.

Usually we find coupled couches, tucked away in silence

but today you are sleeping on a table.

Your hair is shielding the gentle planes of your face,

selfish curls overly-protective of their daughter.

Having your presence near

puts my mind at ease

I like knowing you are safe here.

-

I let you sleep, even though

I know you would prefer to be working.

There is always much to do.

But I know you often work through the night,

so during the day, I let you sleep.

You need to take care of yourself,

darling.

Should I assign self-care as homework?

Should sleeping and eating lie on a rubric?

Simplicity of your mind comes in your slumber,

so I let you sleep.

It abates one of my worries to have you here.

love poemssurreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.