Poets logo

Sonnet to Freedom

Night Swimming

By Julia SchulzPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Sonnet to Freedom
Photo by Nick Dunlap on Unsplash

GROWING UP IT TROUBLED ME THAT MY FULL FIGURE MOTHER FELT ASHAMED TO WEAR A SWIMSUIT IN PUBLIC.

Tiptoeing into the womb of my room,

My mother whispers with a hushing sound,

Gesturing, "Do you want to go swimming?"

I rise out of my bed, backyard pool bound.

Silently sliding into soft slippers,

Crossing linoleum to grassy ground,

Leaving the hum of air conditioners,

I hear the chirp of crickets in night air.

Mom slips her nightgown off over her head,

Pale rolls of flesh and pendulous breasts bare.

Too many years of body-shaming ideals

And self-hatred have taught her despair.

She glides into the water, smiling

Under cover of darkness, without a care.

social commentary

About the Creator

Julia Schulz

I enjoy crafting poetry and telling stories. I especially love being in the "zone" when I take a deep dive with my subject matter, developing characters and settings and researching topics like history and sustainable living.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Julia SchulzWritten by Julia Schulz

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.