Poets logo

Sonnet 1

Summer sweat

By Casper TalesPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Erin at the Falls

In the heat nothing so

vitalizing as a cascade

of coolant saline dripping

Sweet? No. Salty indeed

We work up a sweat

strolling through the street.

A king alone.

We dine at a wooden head.

That night at the Fort:

fireworks. No difference between

us. You are more fun than

golf. I am smitten.

No death hath become the

kitten.

About this poem: inspiration came from Shakespeare. But trust me, I am no poet. I am a sad, lost, pathetic soul. A madman, your honor. A pitiful excuse for a man. I am truly bad today. Not worth anything. But a hero must go on. So let's see, what else can I say? The obvious inspiration was my wife. And a desire to create. Maybe I'm not doing it right.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Casper Tales

Age: 37

Insurance broker by day, library owl by night. Avid writer, proud father, devoted husband, and novice chess player. B.Sc. from Queen's University.

Currently living in Alberta with my wife and two children.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.