Poets logo

Something in the Stardust

a poem

By Abby JacobsenPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
11
Something in the Stardust
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

The stars are magnificent dancers

I befriended them,

the stars

and they told me so

themselves

they invited me up

and at once

we were spinning

dancing

so free that

we escaped Earths

gravity

and I was weightless

free and happier

than I’d ever

been

the star glow

all around me

instead of hovering

above me while

I was down below

we danced for hours

each sparking

dazzling creature taking a

turn around the solar

system

I sat in orbit

with Pluto

when I needed a rest

chilling my dance

given sweat

letting it turn

to frosty ice, but

they pulled at me

laughing, no time

for rest

the stars dance all

night, a party

of epic proportions

galaxies spinning

in jigs and waltzes

some love the cha cha slide

their glitter

and sparkle rubbed

off on me

a tad and the

stars embrace me

spin me round

and round, sculpt me

into one of them

but a human cannot be a

star and a human

they return me

to Earth, and brush my

stardust gently

from my skin into

a jar, the glitter

shimmers and jitters

like it longs

to dance across the sky

the stars shot back up

before their job

was quite finished

the jar in my hand hadn’t

been filled

star light flashes

from my eyes and

twinkling strands still

spark from my curls

there are nights

that the contents of the jar

calls loud to me and

I have to shake the

stardust out

cover myself and

take a place in

the sky

dancing in the arms

of a thousand old friends

***

Thank you for taking the time to read my poetry. If you enjoyed please consider liking, subscribing, and/or sharing to socials and with friends.

If you enjoyed this poem you may also enjoy this one.

surreal poetry
11

About the Creator

Abby Jacobsen

An Oregon based artist, reader, and writer.

Please like, subscribe, and share! Tips are always greatly appreciated!

I can also be found on Instagram, TikTok, and Tumblr!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • J.C. Russeabout a year ago

    The imagery!! This was fantastic! That's a subscribe from me! :)

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh, I felt as if I was dancing along with you. Wow, such beautiful language. I really enjoyed this piece. Great work :)

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Wonderful!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!!💖💖💕

  • Cendrine Marrouatabout a year ago

    Such an interesting poem! I felt as though I was with you. I would be curious to know what the piece would look like if formatted like concrete poetry. Have you tried it?

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    "...dancing in the arms of a thousand old friends." Wow! I felt lulled and lured into a dance with the Milky Way through your poetry. Beautiful! ❤️'d and subscribed :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is gorgeous. Well done.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    The last line was so beautiful ♥️ Well done. Left a ❤️

  • Wow 😮 That was Beautiful 💯❤️🌹🥰💋❗❗❗❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.