Poets logo

Something Great

Right Now

By Rowan Finley Published 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

One, two, three...

I want to be…

Something great when I grow old,

Then I'll be so bold,

But can't I be great even right now?

Does anyone really know how?

Little people can have big ideas too.

I think it is great that I can tie my own shoe!

And isn't it great that I can make a sand castle?

All those complicated adult things seem like a hassle!

Isn't it great that I can ride my bike now?

I feel so grand I think I'll take a bow!

And isn't it great that I can learn to swim?

And drink out of a cup that is full to the brim?

And isn't it great that I can paint a pretty picture?

And learn to make cookies, what a fun mixture!

And do a perfect summersault on the trampoline?

And put my own clothes in the washing machine?

So then it would really seem that I am great now.

So the world can just say, "Wow!"

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.