Poets logo

Some solitude

there’s no hiding

By Katie Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I find solace in solitude,

my quiet runs alone, talking to none, but myself.

How odd really

to contemplate oneself

to examine oneself.

As if to say “I see you”

“You can’t hide from me”

And it’s true, isn’t it?

You can’t hide.

You know everything there is to know

about yourself.

Every lie you ever told, every dream you ever dared to dream.

But we sometimes deny our knowledge of ourselves,

preferring instead to pretend, putting a face to the mirror

that isn’t really who we are.

Refusing to acknowledge our shortcomings, our issues.

These runs of mine, these therapy sessions alone in the woods,

give me opportunities, to face myself, to face my demons

and decide what the truth of me is

and how to live a true to me life moving forward.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Katie

Really just an amateur trying my hand at this.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.