Poets logo

Somber Solitude

Wandering Darkly in my Own Mind

By Angelica MorrisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Somber Solitude
Photo by Cherry Laithang on Unsplash

This is what it feels like

Silence

Waiting and holding my breath, forgetting how to exhale

This heart is a caged animal seeking the sun

I wander deeply in my own echoes

Recessed caverns of memory and thoughts of futility

Wondrous ideas fill my eyes in half-sleep

Towers that never end

Beautiful sounds and music made of pain

Am I even real? Am I someone else’s idea existing in limbo?

I draw the shades and chase the shadows, they understand my need to hide

Tears never come to drown me or to save my soul

All I am is a box

I am a conundrum in my dark and beautiful mind

I can see the light but the tunnel is narrow and withdraws from my scathing touch

Alone I whisper to the void “I am.”

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.