Poets logo

Solo

Because I am not afraid

By The Dani WriterPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
7
Solo
Photo by Keenan Constance on Unsplash

(Click below for the audio version on SoundCloud)

In my solitude

of endless minds of starry skies

I travel through the darkest eyes

changing form and shape I breathe in

and out

for countless cycles

I move about—tiring of nothing

my penetrating gaze

shrouded in mysteries smoke and haze

that lingers on for days

and days

I know your type

I know you too

In my solitude I’ve been with you

A complex concept

that many won’t touch—too much

of a computational hazard but

who needs you

when the world is mine

I kissed the deity to make him shine

a world of light

and life on me traveling…

…traveling near and far

in my solitude

I shed my skin

and bare my head

running

this way and that with angel wind with

love and lust and prayers to send

I’m feeling cool and blue and dark

and wet and

for those who cannot see me as yet

I am a woman fulfilled with sweet desire

This is no mood

THIS IS

no

mood

just me alone in my solitude

By Javier Allegue Barros on Unsplash

I really appreciate that you read my poem! I incorporated the principles of 'found poetry' and have given you two poems in one if you read only the bold print. A 'found poem' takes chunks of words, varying in number/length from a previously written work, with additions and deletions, and pieces them together like a word collage.

If you'd like to see more of my work, please check below:

Your support helps to fuel my passion for writing. You are welcome to heart/comment/subscribe/tip/give shout-outs/share on social media with author credit, and/or ko-fi me if you'd like because it truly warms my heart.

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

The Dani Writer

Explores words to create worlds with poetry, nonfiction, and fiction. Writes content that permeates then revises and edits the heck out of it. Interests: Freelance, consultations, networking, rulebook-ripping. UK-based

Medium

FB

Twitter

Insta

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Davina Zinn McKee5 months ago

    This is ART. The bolded poem within a poem made my third reading even more rewarding—because I read this twice before noticing your note at the end, loving it so much. I’m a fan of your narrative voice and your auditory voice. What a gift you have!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Awesome!!! Stunning solitude!!! Love it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Zara Blume6 months ago

    I don’t think I’ve ever related so strongly to a poem someone else wrote. I read this first, and I heard it in my inner voice. Then I listened to the powerful calm of your voice and loved it even more. 🤍

  • You go, Dani!

  • Real Poetic6 months ago

    This is a poetic masterpiece. I resonate deeply with your words as I too love my solitude, and your ending is straight fire. 🩵

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.