Poets logo

Solitude

alone or lonely

By Rohini SunderamPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Solitude
Photo by Saffu on Unsplash

Such solitariness I have known

Total. Complete.

The satisfaction of being myself

And me alone.

The breezes were my playmates

The rains were made for me

Who else had I need for

And who had need for me?

But then a yearning filled me

Strange and hitherto

Alien to my soul.

A disturbing thrashing around of my spirit.

I searched

I called

I wept

To the unfeeling skies above me

Surely, somewhere

There was someone else like me!

This solitariness I too have known

That I live and die

Alone.

Hello, Goodbye

Some day you will go

And it will be like your coming

The indifferent hello

When we met.

All hellos are the beginnings

Of all goodbyes.

But we stepped forward

Into the stream of the future

Into hello and goodbye

And into farewell

Long before farewell

Meant anything but

Hello.

Missing you

The stars made pinpricks in the dark curtain of night

The moon would not be rising

The night wasn’t for moonlight.

The halo around the streetlamp whirled

Spinning in a mad rainbow turmoil

The light of a firefly stammered along

In a code that no one can foil

I sat in the darkness waiting for dawn

Which was still so far away

A clock struck eleven

While I counted seven

Whole hours for day.

Then I shut my eyes and tried to sleep

But sleep would not come

For you had left me alone.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rohini Sunderam

Rohini Sunderam, a Canadian of Indian origin who calls both Halifax, NS and Bahrain, home, is a semi-retired advertising copywriter. Her stories and poems have appeared in several international anthologies and online magazines.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.