Poets logo

Sobriety Rings

a poem

By Raine fielderPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Like
Sobriety Rings
Photo by Nguyen Linh on Unsplash

He wanted a trophy to hold his head high

Like the one you needed to numb the pain

He used me like a plaything

but you used me like cocaine

He quit me out of boredom

but you quit me like drug

I’m your best kept secret

Swept under the rug

No, I’m not mad like a woman who is scorned

I’m mad like a cat who’s grin is hardly formed

The twelve steps we’ve taken away from each other

That road, wraps around each other’s fingers

So all your soul mate talk just lingers

Because I was never given the luxury of repressed memories

All the words you’ve ever said swim around inside of me

You’re all the best lovers in every romance that I write

You’re all the strongest feelings that I’ve ever tried to fight

Every time I think I’ve won, that I’ve kicked this habit,

I search for my heart, and find that you still have it

surreal poetryslam poetrysad poetrylove poemsheartbreakCONTENT WARNINGart
Like

About the Creator

Raine fielder

Raine has been writing poetry since she was in seventh grade. She has written several poems, song lyrics, short stories and five books. Writing is her main purpose.

https://linktr.ee/RaineFielder

I will NEVER use AI for anything I create.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.