Poets logo

So, This is What “It” Feels Like

Rhiley

By Alaine HayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
So, This is What “It” Feels Like
Photo by Dave Webb on Unsplash

My heart paused the moment I saw him;

ABSOLUETLY skipped a beat.

I'd been finally struck by lightning, fireworks,

... volcanic heat!

No cautionary tale could deter me,

No warning signs diminish my bliss;

My “happily ever after”, had finally found me;

“IT” was this!

There was no rhyme or reason,

Only a force beyond my control.

He stole everything that made me, me...

My heart, my body, and soul.

In his defense, I gave “it” freely.

Being ignorant to TRUE love;

See for me it was forever,

Not a season, you move on from.

After all his “constructive” criticisms,

Years not knowing my own worth.

Stripped down to absolutely NOTHING

No purpose here on earth.

The lesson finally revealed to me,

That probably saved my life.

Was that “it” wasn’t about anybody else,

“It” was about how I felt inside!

Cause life is not a fairytale,

Always ending with dreams coming true.

Turns out the world can be a cold, hard place,

Where you survive with what’s left due.

For him “it” wasn’t meant to be,

True love was not a thing.

In the end I was just another statistic;

I got a baby, not a ring!

But it’s ironic the way some things turn out,

How blessings can stem from pain.

What once seemed so unattainable,

No longer feels the same.

I thought true love had come and gone,

No longer in my sights.

Until I held my baby girl,

And realized........,

THIS is what “IT” feels like!

inspirationalsad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Alaine Hay

Hesitantly optimistic, I feel my inspiration from my pain. An anxious, bipolar single mom, trying to somehow raise a well rounded teenage girl! Lol.Trying to gain wisdom through my downfalls, and spread hope through my success, despite them

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.