Poets logo

So Many Battles

A poem about struggle by ED 6/13/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
So Many Battles
Photo by Henry Hustava on Unsplash

How can I know familiarity

In acts yet undone?

How can I lose so many battles

When the victory’s won?

How many times could I fall down

When in four months I’ll fly?

How do I hold onto forever

When the moment says goodbye?

How do I define faith

When I always doubt?

How can I say “I love you”

When vanity I shout?

How can I find The Kingdom

When I can’t roll out of bed?

How can I seek the divine

When I can’t escape my head?

How can I forget my sins

When they haunt me in my sleep

How can I give You my all

When my heart I want to keep?

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robert Aneiro2 years ago

    The conflict and internal struggle your poem evoked, reminded me of my habit of procrastination I'm trying to kick. Thank you for the motivation. Keep up the good writing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.