Poets logo

So I let him have it

After a bad breakup.. "I thought he was the one"

By MacyPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
So I let him have it
Photo by Blake Cheek on Unsplash

As my teeth grind together from the loose starry wind. I hold my breath. In a pause I regulate my breath again but this time bitter. I’m at a loss of words knowing now that my heart is stiffer. But I hold close to the ground. For I know that this is where I lay when I go back to a mound deep within the ground. I will breathe with the earth but my soul will dance with the clouds of Heaven. But when I look now the clouds dance alone with my eyes. I see them satisfied. With my eyes peeled I mutter how I feel.

“How the clouds strikingly pass by touching hands with the wind. Both seeing eye to eye they both cut my side… How could I let this happen?

How could I let my loneliness be chastise by nature's pride?

For the man who was there by my side.

He made me glide

Then he made me cry

So I let him have it

I gave him a piece of my core

He begged for more

But with my eyes I wouldn’t lie

I was bound to die

He said he’d leave me if I didn’t abide

So I let him have it

He was pleased

Then I dropped to my knees and died

He hunched over in fear

And said don’t worry my dear

As long as you abide I will always be here

So I let him have it

It rings in his ear

But good for him he can’t come near

He pears his core and sees a pit

So I let him have it

Then I opened my eyes

It felt like I had fit

And to my side was nothing

Not even a tie

I was put back to life

Not from my own strife but God’s

From the help I cried

For I should have died

But now I arise

Then I cut the man’s ties

With a kiss goodbye”

I let go. I let go with a core inside. Then kiss the sky. With great joy and sadness my core won’t forget the lie. It misses the passion and hope at its side. It was cold. It broke my tide. My tide with the Lord. Instead of man I give my core and everything in store to my Lord. With my word I say to Him and not to man. For he had saved me “So let him have it ... .All!”

Free VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Macy

I want to show my bad poetry that's all

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    😢 Heartbreaking!

MacyWritten by Macy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.