Poets logo

So I guess I am back //(in my hometown for a while)

//

By S. R. MasonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

You are laughing while decorating

a corpse. The echo of life and death

bouncing around the corners

of your warm boxes. I know you don't measure your life

in shapes

like I do. You are the lucky kind. The kind that collects memories

instead of survival lessons.

So often, I wonder who I was

before I became this creature.

Was she always collecting

hard pieces of trauma

to wear as jewelry? I'm looking for reasons to use

the disgusting music

in my throat. Maybe you're the type

to listen.

To listen.

To listen.

Do not tell me what you hear.

#poetry

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

S. R. Mason

Vanlifer/Musician/Poet/

I write songs under the name Stephersaur.

I write poetry under the name S. R. Mason.

You can call me Steph.

Currently living in a van with Mesa the hound dog.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.