Poets logo

SO GOOD BYE AND GOOD LUCK, OR, 'I LOOK BETTER IN BLAK.'

A poem exorcising the ghosts from the past.

By Jayne McClurePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Thelma Plum, 'Better in Blak.'

I don’t need a man

I need men

For attention and conversation

Sorry, not intimacy

To he, I have loved in my youth

I am still in love with the memory

But, I perceive your outlook has changed

And it is no longer positive

I may have felt the desire to restore you to your former contentment

When I noticed you to be unhappy

I am not jealous of your partner

Nor wish to take her place

I just wish for you all to be at peace

And when you try to placate me

With your well chosen and diplomatic words

I see through it

And surely see through your projections

And the shadows that they cast

You who cannot see me as your equal

Although, I am a Goddess, and I am a Queen,

Not your court jester

And I have treated you with respect, and like a King

Although not my King

I see you with my 20/20 vision

While you see me through a fractured lens

Pity I must let you go

As the potential

Could have been highly creative and healing

And of equal benefit to us both

I am still tainted in your eyes

As, you listened to

The judgements of the jealous

And the desperate

Whom where paranoid of my good intentions

I know what they communicated to you

Their false truths

I know you believed them and played their game

Losing another woman of grace, beauty and spirit

Such as if, she had just stepped out of a Gustave Klimt painting

Knowing that karma threw you a loosing dice

As my poor communication did to me

I forgave you

Believing that if you understood my good intentions

You would be beside yourself with regret

So, I forgave you


But perhaps, you didn’t understand

And still do not respect

Instead deny and placate

So, this tangled thread I sever

Finally understanding that those projections

I just cannot convince you that they are illusory

And must cease from trying

And even though I know it’s unjust

With my absolute innocence from those said crimes

You and your entourage, where convinced I was guilty of

I must now, with my sharpened axe, cut this thread

And ignore a tainted friendship

That is undermining

And, should you even notice,

I’ll give you a meaningless placation

I’m listening to the songs of my sisters now

And, ‘I look better in blak.'

'Better In Blak' here https://ThelmaPlum.lnk.to/bibAY.

(C) Jayne McClure 2021

www.florallyimpressed.com

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.