Poets logo

Snowflakes Frolic Upon My Nose

A Song of Winter

By Cathy holmesPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
60
photo by Carol Carpenter on Unsplash

When snowflakes frolic upon my nose,

sparrows huddle in near naked trees

and cardinals sing their joyful prose.

*

The sunshine withers as darkness grows,

and waves crash down in cold, glacial seas,

when snowflakes frolic upon my nose.

*

Red robins flee as the north wind blows,

while woolen scarves fly high on the breeze

and cardinals sing their joyful prose.

*

Down hills, with frozen fingers and toes,

children race on toboggans and skis,

when snowflakes frolic upon my nose.

*

Houses shine bright with holly and bows.

while people sip their peppermint teas

and cardinals sing their joyful prose.

*

In mother nature’s silent repose,

crystal lakes sport their seasonal freeze,

when snowflakes frolic upon my nose

and cardinals sing their joyful prose.

nature poetry
60

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (51)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor3 months ago

    Hi C - I know I'm not part of your splinter groups, but I do follow everything you offer to us in the Village: So many imaginative topics; that's a talent in of itself to find them. I also admire how you and 'Bro' Gerald interact. Please take a moment and let me introduce my 'Bro' Luck-Larry featured in my "Twins" ~ The Alpha ~ I hope you can relate, Cathy. Jay in L.A.

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I’d missed this one, but am glad to read it now. Lovely villanelle Cathy! Congrats!

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Excellent entry, Cathy, good luck! I hope it places 😁

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    This is so beautiful and whimsical, Cathy! 😍 Amazing 🥹

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    Beautifully composed!

  • Amazing poem. Enjoy the winter season. https://about.me/cypresscollegebookstore

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    Haha nice one-I am lucky not much snow here even though most years snow from Sept-May. Your poem makes snow that I dread seem so lovely

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Very vivid winter scene. I love cardinals. Wonderful villanelle!

  • C. H. Richard5 months ago

    Beautiful ❤️ Cathy. Creates such a feeling of winter peace ❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    You sure did Mother Nature proud with this one. 👏👏👏

  • k eleanor5 months ago

    This is so beautiful. Happy that I come across this. You got yourself a fan cathy (subscribed!) And congratulations on top story!!❤

  • Chamath Mishael5 months ago

    Wow

  • Natasha Collazo5 months ago

    This was so good. 👏

  • Beautiful poem, Cathy. Just wonderful!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    You created a stunning vision of snow and light! Gorgeous work

  • Yayyyyy I'm back to say congratulations for your Top Story!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Lovely! Such strong imagery!

  • Gorgeous villanelle. The imagery flows seamlessly through the form.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Cathy I love the way you painted us such a beautiful picture!! This was so well written with the rhyme scheme and repetitive language to strengthen the over all mood of the piece! Great work and congrats on Top Story!

  • Margaret Brennan5 months ago

    OMG. this is so beautiful. I love it. congratulations on TS. You definitely deserve it.

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Perfect atmospheric capturing here, Cathy. Just beautiful!

  • The Dani Writer5 months ago

    Snowflakes would never "frolic upon my nose" in a way that I would be happy about it, or poetic 🥶 since I'm averse to the cold. But I honour and congratulate your achievement here whilst hovering in my warm room having never left the house today cuz it's too cold and I'm about to hop into the hottest bath I can muster whilst NEVER thinking about snowflakes 😁 Seriously, congratulations! 😊

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    Delightful and charming! 🥰

  • Test5 months ago

    Such beauiful nostalgia x And the imagery is stunning 🤍 Congrats on wonderful TS 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.