Poets logo

Snowflake

I am a snowflake.

By Carly ButtonPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Like
Snowflake
Photo by Aditya Vyas on Unsplash

I am a snowflake.

I was born from the shivers of the wind and the tears of a spongy cloud. I parachute to the sky with my other sisters, a ballet in the middle of a blue stage. We dance and turn, all the while maintaining graceful poise. I fall peacefully through the sky like a gentle feather, taking my time and enjoying the view from above the world. The ground below looks ominous, but accepting. There are plenty of my brothers and sisters, in a tight hug sweeping the floor. I brace myself for the impact, but a sharp gust of wind nudges me elsewhere. I find myself face to face with a girl. Others of my kind litter her grey hat, and she giggles as she notices them on the tip of her nose and the ends of her eyelashes. She looks around for someone to giggle with, but her only reply was a strong gust of wind. Her smile suddenly vanished into a thin, hard line. She looks lonely. I stare into her deep brown eyes, and can't help but wonder. I want to shout to her. "I am here!

Someone is here!" But what am I? I am simply a snowflake, in a few moments I will be a blimp of white to this endless universe. No one will remember my existence or even the fact that I did exist. I am lonely, just like her.

Suddenly I am weak. My body wants to fall, quickly, but I refuse to leave. I strain myself, and I flow with the wind and settle upon her cheek. She shivers at my touch, but her internal warmth quickly counteracts my touch. As I begin to warm up and my body slowly disintegrates, I feel peaceful. I want my peace to radiate off to her. The view is beautiful, and as I wait patiently for the claws of darkness to guide me into the next life, I hear her gasp. She notices it too. She sees the blanket of snow covering the ominous mountains, the strong, thick trunk of the tree holding up a portentous work of art. The shadows close in on me and I strain for one more second. I feel the muscles on her cheek contract for a smile, and I can be peaceful. My body is a teardrop, falling off her cheek into the abyssal snow blanket under me. She smiles. She's happy. I'm happy.

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.