Poets logo

Snow Globe

Trapped Behind Glass

By Poppy Published 2 years ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
9
Snow Globe
Photo by Tobias Bjerknes on Unsplash

We were encased

In a snow globe

Dancing amongst

The miniature white specks

Just to ignore the fact that

We were trapped behind glass

A stolen stare and

A silent prayer and

Just like that I couldn't

Stop clinging onto

Daydreams and moments

As if they were my sanity

I pretended I didn't

Revolve around you and

Then tried desperately to

Believe my own futile act

You were a hand of cards

I could never manage to read

But continued to believe

Was a royal flush

I know our hands are tied

But I still want yours

To hold me

❀❀❀❀❀

If you enjoyed this poem please check out the one below:

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
9

About the Creator

Poppy

‘Wasted Love' available to purchase here in paperback and eBook format.

Find me on:

Instagram. Facebook. Tiktok. Pinterest. Twitter. Medium. Patreon.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    So so beautiful! I am so glad this was on Deep Cuts!

  • I got to this one through Paul and Deep Cuts, but I’ve already spent much of the afternoon enjoying your work ! This is no exception ❤️✨

  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    Great job… I don’t think I’m familiar with your work. Came here from deep cuts via Paul. The whole snow globe image & metaphor for being in a ‘bubble’ of sorts (I assume) is really impactful and haunting!

  • Such aching & longing. Beautiful, Poppy.

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    This is so sad...so much emotion. You constantly surprise me, Poppy. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.