Poets logo

Snippets of an imagined future

A poem

By Sophie MortimerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Snippets of an imagined future

Come to me at random times

While I perform mundane tasks

Suddenly a scene will play in my mind

They aren’t all new musings

Some old are made new

Cause now there is a face and name

Because now there is you

I’ll be walking along

Thinking of nothing much

When suddenly I see you

Your face at our baby’s first touch

Or smiling at me

As we have our first dance

Pulling me closer

As we twirl and kiss at every chance

Or waking up beside me

On an ordinary day

Bleary eyed and messy haired

I wouldn’t want you another way

These are all imaginary

And may never come to pass

But I think I want them to

With every beat of my heart

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Sophie Mortimer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.