Poets logo

Smooth Overture

A Minor Key

By D. J. ReddallPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5

Your eye is careful, so discerning

Caution will mark me a craven coward

But rash boldness will show me blundering

Smug confidence will win me no award

I want to know you, and know nothing more

The worlds you weave from words, where I would dwell

Misinterpreted, will ruin rapport;

I must be sweet and light, a bagatelle

Smooth as a quantum atomic mirror

Must every humble syllable become

Envying crystal, I must be clearer

A brazen, clumsy call won’t make you come

Reading words not writ for me makes them mine

Writing words for all and none makes me thine

love poems
5

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    A sonnet: the most popular form for love poetry? And here, the uncertainty of how to impress the one to whom your eye is drawn. Tricky stuff but smoothly done.

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    I love the complexity of this. At first, it felt a lot like dating. The art of getting to know someone new—and there truly is an art to it, I’ve found. One that most have yet to master. Being both interesting and interested, and attracted to someone enough to want to know them… but not super attracted before you know them, because that means you’ve projected your own fantasies and desires onto them. Then, I read this: ‘Reading words not writ for me makes them mine Writing words for all and none makes me thine’ And it felt like you were describing the love affair a writer has with their readers, painting the entire poem in a different shade for me. Either way, I love this variation of ‘smooth.’

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    This is great, it feels so precarious and at the same time so sure of what it wants.

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    A bit of a mysterious tone to this love poem which I responded to. Excellent poem D. J.

  • Oooo, this was so magnificent! Loved your poem!

  • Real Poetic7 months ago

    Phenomenal! 👏🏼

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.