Poets logo

Smoke

Catacombs

By Jjenni Dagnelli Published 3 years ago 1 min read
3

Smoke

It starts with a tiny spark that shadows the life I am living


The embers burn until they can catch the flame that they are born to be
Maybe I’m putting to much thought into this


The fire burns


The shadows dance


Only in a senseless world could any of this make any sense


Everything begins to burn,

and rising from each particle flame is the impending disaster and doom
The heat from the fire makes my skin crack and peel


It falls to my feet


A shell of my former self


It’s getting all twisted but still remains red


I try to dance with the shadows but they seem to have no rhythm


A steady-less beat that carries over the wind playing in erratic shifts that echo in the dim catacombs of my broken and lost daydreams


Lights flashing


Banging


Banging


Banging


The clouds above turn from fluffy whiteness to a dismal gray


The sun that was once shinning has faded away beneath the darkness


The ground I am standing on shifts uncomfortably as it all freezes


The world has turned to ice


Yet the fire still burns


The distance grows smaller as I stand here frozen, burning.


Shadows that were once dancing merrily now reach out and try to pull me down molding me to the ice covered ground


A banshee’s scream


Sirens cry out but their plea goes unheard and there for can never be understood


The closer I get the farther away I become


The flames wrap around me and I choke


With out air that I can breath the darkness has found me again


It takes me back to the sickly confounds of its ever exasperating tunnels and mazes


I have been left here before


I had been lost inside for years


The walls echo in laughter that contain no happiness


Each moment is interrupted


Each thought put on hold


The world becomes filled with delusions


Burning bright in darkness


Shadows eating away my remaining flesh


I stand where I am


I can’t move, I’m frozen


And from the ground beneath me the smoke rises.

@OriginalGhostPoetry

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Jjenni Dagnelli

the poetry beneath your skin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.