Poets logo

SMD

A Love Poem For My Sister: Aren't Her Initials Unfortunate?

By Jennifer DavidPublished 17 days ago Updated 17 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
SMD
Photo by Georgia de Lotz on Unsplash

I hate the way you touch me

Not because I find you repulsive

But because of the nasty way your cold clammy finger tips graze my skin

-

I hate the way you smell

Not because you have B.O

But because of the way your tree hugging vegan farts radiate across anyspace

-

I hate the way you talk

Not because of your voice

But simply because your corny jokes last for far too long

-

I hate the way you know

Not because you're smarter than me

But because you know my every weakness and use them against me

-

I hate the way you eat

Not because of the annoying way that you chew with your mouth open

But because of the way you eat a salad bowl of just potatoes and rice without gaining a single pound

-

I hate the way you breathe

Not because of the way you blow hot moist air into my ear with each juicy secret

But because of the way you choke on air when you uncontrollably laugh

-

I hate the way you dress

Not because you stole my dress before I took the tags off

But because of the freakin' pit stains I found when I took it back

-

I hate the way you're honest

Not because you tell me every unnecesary detail

But becasue of the way you honestly don't know when to shut the hell up

-

I hate the way you look at me

Not because you have four eyes

But because you see through my every scheme

-

I hate

I hate

the way you

smell, talk, touch, know, breathe, and dress

Not because

I hate you

Not even because you annoy the crap out of me and take my shit

or

because of the way you laugh at my jokes and tell me secrets

but

because of the way, through all these things,

-

I love you

In honor of my sister's birthday this month, I decided to share the poem I wrote about her for a project in college. Maybe I'll post a serious one her actually bday! Anywho, I hope this made you smile and think about your loved ones. Maybe you could even imagine my 19 year old self scheming and burning away the midnight oil in my dorm room, laughin like a hyena. Happy Saturday! #June2024

Friendshiplove poemsFree VerseFamily

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Dr. Jason Benskin13 days ago

    Awesome work! Love this read. Keep up he good work. When you get a chance please check out my work let me know your thoughts.

  • def captures the way a sister relationship can be! congrats on ts!

  • This def feels antithetical to a love poem, yet the raw honesty and genuine emotions showcase a warmth and sincere love for your sister.

  • Congrats on top story

  • Ameer Bibi14 days ago

    A unique way for the expression of love Great job Congratulations on TS

  • Congrats on your top story.

  • Anu Mehjabin15 days ago

    the complexity of love and annoyance that comes with truly knowing someone. Keep up the great work! And congrats on your top story🎉

  • Stephanie David15 days ago

    People are often better off knowing that real love is messy and the more laughter we interject, the better off and healthier we are. Nothing like sister love!!!

  • angela hepworth15 days ago

    Haha genuine, honest, and affectionate!

  • Rachel S15 days ago

    interesting way of expressing love...

  • TahimaAni15 days ago

    so sweet ♥️

  • Margaret Brennan15 days ago

    Congratulations on your TS. Makes me wish I had a relationship like that with my sister, who rarely speaks to me since our mom died in 2016. Long story but I ended up not missing her. I guess that's what cruel words can do, too. Your poem makes me wish my life had a better outcome.

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    I thought poem was going to be a note to self. Great job hiding it is about your sister. Congratulations on Top Story ⭐️

  • Paul Stewart15 days ago

    hahahaha. This made me laugh and kinda feel warm feelings. Well written and you didn't give your sister an easy run of it to get to that last line, but it feels like she would know you think these things anyway before you wrote it. Well done, Jennifer and congrats on a great Top Story!

  • shanmuga priya17 days ago

    Your poem resonates with warmth and affection, reminding me about the special place a sister holds in our hearts.....interesting to read.

Jennifer DavidWritten by Jennifer David

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.