Poets logo

Slush

The freezing stark

By Kuro Seijaku Published about a year ago 2 min read
Like
The road less traveled.

A face I no longer recall, a pain that temper’s the all.

A place I no longer recall, into dismay I yet fall.

This slush, the freezing stark beckons the mind to the dark.

That may yet seem antithetic to convention our nature professes.

Depressive obsession is the cold into every crevice.

Winter is here, this it is clear, a time of change.

Our thoughts arranged without a moment to waste.

Dawdle and your flame will soon be erased.

Please don’t misplaced this feeling, mistake it reveals survival so simple and plain.

Shiro to Kuro, Yin to Yang.

Life is as paper with words on it’s plane.

The traveler

Alone, do I miss the warmth of your presence.

So foolish am I, once so close to heaven.

To loosen my grasp on all that I cherish.

Miles to go hoping I don’t perish.

I’m freezing alone, I’m here without you.

Ignoring your gaze I call out to you.

In my mind, why am I so blind yet to see that I wanted you, and you, me.

Stubborn and stiff so loose and wild.

Damaged myself acting as a child.

A man fully grown committed to more.

My heart in twain the mark you left mired.

Together

Together, wherever, whenever you are.

Much like a diamond, in truth, you’re a star.

With you by my side, no touch could be warmer.

You’re alluring embrace saves me from these horrors.

So I must stay, along at your pace, matching in stride; careful not to stray.

This is peace that I find between you & I.

While relentless flakes do fall from the sky.

This pervasive cold couldn’t get old, it’s archaic and ancient; steadfast in it’s hold.

Enraptured am I, ensnared by your glare.

So is it a wonder if I am to stare?

I should’ve seen you, please do forgive.

For I fear myself, my privilege to live, to grow, to laugh, to know, and loathe.

To love is far more than any of those.

Do listen well, to words on the wind.

Guiding our hands for when what’s within is lost to it’s word.

For without a doubt if I wasn’t foolish I’d be with you now.

Perhaps, perchance I’ll see you again, if only you trust that we have an end.

This end is bright and cheerful, so I shall march through this slush, with you in my mind.

nature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Kuro Seijaku

“Kuro Silence (Seijaku) is a rapper/producer from Baltimore, Maryland. From trap to experimental, Kuros work defies normative currents of Hip-Hop’s soundscape with his work ethic and forays into Hip-Hop’s many sub-genres.”

-Channel10 Podcast

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.