Poets logo

Slipping Slowly Away

A Time Haiku

By Natasja RosePublished about a year ago 1 min read
15
Slipping Slowly Away
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Fragile and fleeting,

Precious time, gone in a blink

Like ash on the wind.

By Havilah Galaxy on Unsplash

Clearly, Vocal has caught the Haiku bug just as badly as most of us did... This is, what, the fourth challenge based on Haikus?

Note for people struggling with the haiku count: Using apostrophes to cut out syllables might make you sound like Shakespeare, and possibly more than a little pretentious, but it's a valid and legitimate cheat.

Also, counting out on your fingers helps a lot.

(Particularly long note in order to hit the 100 minimum for poems)

If you liked this story, leave a heart, a comment or a tip and share it around, and check out my other work on Medium and Amazon.

sad poetryinspirationalfact or fiction
15

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll4 months ago

    So very true. This is a great entry to the Challenge 🥳

  • I missed this first time round , but thanks for entering it in the VSS Challenge

  • suman mohanabout a year ago

    Superb!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Love that last line ❤️

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    The last line was so eloquent. Take my love and subscription and go ❤

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous piece!!! Loving it!!!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    The last line is so graceful and lovely! Well done :)

  • Jason Ray Morton about a year ago

    I love the last line, like ash on the wind.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.