Poets logo

Sleepy Morning Snuggles

Take a peek into my happy place.

By Ellie BeauchampPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sleepy Morning Snuggles
Photo by Kate Stone Matheson on Unsplash

It is a rainy autumn morning

The house around me is quiet and snoring

Tornado is curled behind my knee

Pringles is tucked where I cannot see

Draped lazily is my arm around your waist

Effortlessly are our legs interlaced

Distant rolls of thunder rumbling

Did pull me gently from my slumbering

My hold around you tenderly tightens

And closer I snuggle as the room brightens

A sleepy chirp is heard and my hand is nuzzled

Then from your front a furry face appears puzzled

Fur of charcoal and eyes of green

Pringles climbs over nimbly and puts himself in between

Against your back is his new place

He curls up and begins nibbling on my face

While at first his bites are soft and light

They quickly sharpen and I feel the sting of his bite

I lightly pull my face away and grimace

His purring grows louder and he settles between us

During our game the rain has increased

Rhythmically it pounds the window, the flood gates released

My eyelids seem to hold great bags of sand

I sink into the mattress and give in to their demand

My hold around you once again turns lazy

I give your arm a squeeze as my thoughts become hazy

Outside the storm continues its slow and steady creep

As I am once again pulled into the depths of sleep.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.