Poets logo

Sleeping Beauty

Requiem of a Dream

By SyncerePublished 5 days ago 1 min read
7

For the first time, in a long time I might add,
I dreamt of someone else.
Let's call him- you know what? No.
We're not naming names, because y'all?
This man came to play no games.
He seeped into my subconscious, and he drove me insane.
And it may not have been first, but he was glad that he came.
His eyes so blue they looked right through to the core of me.
And I bet he could tell the sex of our future progeny.
Honestly, I wouldn't mind pairing my first name with his last.
The thirst so real, his girth ideal-
It may just be quarter past time to move on.
Shed the proverbial shroud, get back to living out loud.
Yes my 1st love is gone.
But life is about continuing forward
until you reach the end of your set course.
Of course, I'll always miss him.
His presence no small loss.
But I can't deviate from the plan for me 'cause I am a boss.
And the man who interrupts my dreams is really a toss.
The dice could be loaded. I'm not easily goaded but ...
it's nice to have dreams instead of nightmares come true.
It'd be a pleasant surprise if I saw love in his eyes
that remind me of the beauty of Pacific blues.
I only half jest about all his well earned clout;
his majestic form is far surpassing the norm.
But it's the set of his jaw and his beautiful smile.
His intelligence, warmth and intentions devoid of guile.
I've been acquainted with him mere moments
but my soul feels like we've been intertwined for a lifetime.
I want to lay in his arms and reminisce
about the years we have ahead.
But for now I'll have to settle for the love we share
when I'm asleep in my bed

love poemsOde
7

About the Creator

Syncere

Syncere (noun) An author/poet & barely tolerable human being. Masterful trickster of family & friends, as they actually support her. In another life, could've been a failed comedienne. In the grand scheme of the multiverse, she already is.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Edi Rustandi3 days ago

    Bagus & menarik, teruslah inovatif.

  • TheSpinstress5 days ago

    I love this! Especially this line: "It may just be quarter past time to move on."

  • Brilliant. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.