Poets logo

Slavery

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Slavery
Photo by Dainis Graveris on Unsplash

Over the years,

before and during the pandemic,

I’ve been a slave

whose been chained and strangled

in her own emotions.

I’m working

tirelessly, consistently, and peacefully,

so I can finally become

an emotionally liberated woman.

Emotional slavery

is torture;

it’s like being locked up

in your own prison cell

every single day.

Some days,

I couldn’t make peace

with myself,

because I’d be held hostage

by my evil ego.

Years of being

an emotional slave

put me in “fight with me” mode;

I felt the responsibility

to defend myself

every time

someone wronged me.

I can’t stand

being held captive

anymore.

It’s giving me

excruciating headaches

and annoying ear aches.

By ian dooley on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment, and feel free to send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To read and find more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more poems, stories, recipes, and much more!

Please feel free to stay in touch with me!!

IG: @tdwrites24

By DESIGNECOLOGIST on Unsplash

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    great job! inspiring piece!

  • Teresa Rentonabout a year ago

    Very raw and powerful depiction of feelings ❤️

  • Joelle E Nabout a year ago

    Dude…. I feel this. ❤️❤️ stay strong

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Fabulous!!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

Talia DevoraWritten by Talia Devora

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.