Poets logo

Skyward Bound

Prose poem

By Fly AlonePublished 3 days ago 1 min read

I have to visit a school—

a girls' school

There is a drawing competition

The topic is: sky

I would love to see how the girls perceive the sky

They might have drawn the moon, stars, and galaxies—

the Milky Way, satellites, and orbits

But I am interested in a drawing where

a ladder reaches the moon, a girl with a basket plucks stars

Or a space traveler who has landed on the moon

sits resignedly beneath a green tree with red flowers by the edge of a river

Or aliens and humans gaze at Earth through a telescope

and find it filled with fire, floods, and snow

and plan to rehabilitate it

Perhaps I could meet a girl who has flown her heart’s butterfly over the sky

to where the universe ends

and at the end, a dream blossoms like a rose

I have expectations

But I feel as though the exhibition has been visited by me

Should I go now?

When I am well convinced

that girls are more intelligent and creative than boys.

inspirational

About the Creator

Fly Alone

Hello! I am a poet and writer. I write whatever comes in my mind.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Sherif Saad2 days ago

    I love it

  • Oooo, I especially loved the girl with the basket plucking stars!

  • Andrea Corwin 2 days ago

    Great expectations! especially hoping for an alien and human to look at earth through a telescope and one who has flown on her butterfly to the end of the universe. Wow!

  • T. Licht2 days ago

    There's just something about youth. Great poem

Fly AloneWritten by Fly Alone

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.