Poets logo

Sky of the Redbird

Flying to love amidst the chaos

By Kourtney RisherPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

Dear Redbird,

I've been looking to the horizon

yearning to soar beside you.

But alas the fierce winds push against me,

delaying the course of our reunion.

You lead your flock on your own stormy flight.

Your journey as a mother carries you away from me

as the dark clouds of chaos conceal my path.

The stench of contagion filling the atmosphere will only increase the arduousness of my mission.

My sweet Redbird, I promise you this:

To be with you I will fly through every storm,

every plague,

every storm,

and every peril the treacherous skies hurl at me.

I will see your beautiful feathers glisten in the sun.

Even the apocalypse cannot stop this.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Kourtney Risher

I'm a poet and an aspiring novelist from El Dorado, AR.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.