Poets logo

Sky High

By Dalton Merritt

By Dalton MerrittPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Me and my sweetheart

What feels like so long ago, you and I first met,

In a place and time unexpected, connected by the net,

We talked for what seems forever, not a moment boring,

What started as a run, a jump, a glide soon became soaring.

The arrangement was nothing short of divine,

For I knew shortly after our encounter I wanted you as mine,

So as day went into day, and week into week, our bond only grew,

I knew that of all things of this earth all I wanted was you.

How small, like a mustard seed our bond only grows,

For your fervent faith most evidently shows,

You too often help me to taste and see,

A beautiful glimpse of a grand eternity.

When you speak with me, you remind me of hope,

And help me out of any emotional slope,

You help me to strengthen in my strong belief,

And lead me toward comfort from any grief.

For though you prefer to dress black as night,

You bring me close to a world of light,

And I know you and I desire with our heart,

To depart to a distant realm apart.

You are so very desirable my Queen,

For me, you are not flawed, but perfect, nothing inbetween,

You have lifted my wings and made me learn to fly,

And have lifted my hopes up, sky high.

I thank you my dearest for this wonderous meeting,

I wish for you only the most blessed greeting,

And I know that I owe you nothing short of my life,

I will forever be grateful, to have you as my wife.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Dalton Merritt

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.