Poets logo

Skewered

Let's take guilt off the menu before we all get burned

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
10
Skewered
Photo by Jessie Beck on Unsplash

"She should clean her house--what a slob!"

"Don't stay home ... go get a job!"

"Put kids first!" "Chase your dreams!"

<sigh> We can't win, it seems ...

So shelve the "she should" shish-kebab!

<>

When I start feeling dragged down by other people's (often contradictory) expectations for me, a family member reminds me to "Stop should-ing all over yourself!" So in honor of Women's History Month, I'm passing this on to my sisters ... though really, it's valuable advice for all humans!

Here's another limerick I'd like to share with you!

social commentaryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Fantastic!! I appreciate the advice of the your family member to stop should-ing all over yourself. Great work!!

  • Morgana Millerabout a year ago

    ooo I love the mellifluousness of "she should shish-kebab," nicely done!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is awesome! I love the message. I need to stop “shoulding” myself as well!! 😍

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent! So well said.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    It really is neverending “shoulds”!!! I really loved how you put the sigh in here, this was great!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.