Poets logo

Sixku 10-15

My six-word poems with a twist

By Cendrine MarrouatPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
9
Sixku 10-15
Photo by Mona Eendra on Unsplash

Hello everyone!

It has been a while since I posted any sixku. Here are five more for you below.

Sixku 10

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Crashing waves,

branch’s gentle support

skyward.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

One of my favorite photos of the Maha’ulepu Heritage Trail in Kauai, Hawaii. Those stacked rocks are fascinating!

Sixku 11

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Suspended

(no safety net)

seconds ago.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

Years ago, as I was walking in one of the local parks in my city, I noticed a leaf that was literally hanging by a thread. I knew I only had a very short amount of time to document the scene as the wind was starting to blow.

I pressed the shutter. A second later, the leaf was gone!

To me, this photo encapsulates the fleeting beauty of nature.

Sixku 12

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Sitting, standing—

looks here, there—

carousel.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

One of my favorite photos, taken in Toulouse, France, in 2016.

December is always a special month there. In the heart of the city, the Christmas market is a feast for the eyes and taste buds. You can buy things like woodcrafts, pottery, candles, and leather goods, and enjoy some incredible local specialties.

Many streets are also adorned with beautiful lights. And there are events happening all month long.

Sixku 13

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Centuries old

yet ageless

tonight.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

A detail of a beautiful fountain in Toulouse, my hometown. The Fontaine Saint-Étienne (a.k.a. Griffoul) dates back to the mid-1540s and is the oldest public fountain in the city. It is topped by a small obelisk.

Sixku 14

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Atop,

suffused with darkness,

they watch.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

I rarely take photos at night. It’s hard to get clean shots, especially if you do not have a tripod with you.

However, I like how this shot turned out. It has a mysterious look about it.

Sixku 15

Photo credit: Cendrine Marrouat

Rainy morning:

one second

before takeoff.

© 2019 Cendrine Marrouat

“Poetry is like a bird, it ignores all frontiers.” — Yevgeny Yevtushenko

About the Sixku

The Sixku (pronounce ‘sis-ku’) is a poetry form that I invented in 2019.

Sixku are six-word, untitled poems based on the Haiku, my favorite form. Each piece must be inspired by and contain an image. A reference to nature is encouraged. For example: season, weather, month, time of the day, etc.

Three mandatory lines:

  • Line 1 = idea 1 (one or two word(s))
  • Line 2 = idea 2 (two or three words)
  • Line 3 = twist, surprise (remaining words)

A seventh word is acceptable, only if it is an article or preposition (e.g. ‘a’, ‘the’, ‘up’, ‘down’…). Do not abuse this exception, though.

Complete sentences and punctuation are optional and the use of the past tense is allowed.

More Sixku:

That's it for today! Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed this post, consider supporting my work.

inspirationalnature poetryhow to
9

About the Creator

Cendrine Marrouat

Writer & Author⎜Photographer⎜Artist⎜Co-founder of Auroras & Blossoms / A Warm Mug of Cozy⎜(Co-)creator of literary forms

"The Train: A Short Story" is out!

Website: https://creativeramblings.com

Donations: https://ko-fi.com/cendrineartist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler11 months ago

    I enjoyed this delightful read!! Gorgeous pictures and great words to pair with them. I think the carousel was my favorite :)

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Love these, I would Sixku 10 is my favorite as anything to do with Kauai, HI makes me smile. 🌺

  • My favourite was Sixku 11! That leaf suspended in the air, hanging by a thread was so beautiful!

  • Gina C.11 months ago

    Stunning sixku's, Cendrine! I really love the little afterward about each of them as well! 🤗❤️

  • Wow that was great will have to try this style

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Fascinating. Love how you use your own photos with this. Really well done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.